2008: Cuba: Release of journalists and librarian

Oslo, 18, March 2008

Head of State and Government
Raúl Castro Ruz
Presidente, La Habana, Cuba

Fax: +53 7 8333085 (c/o Ministry of Foreign Affairs)/ +1 2127791697 (c/o Cuban Mission to UN)

Email: f_castro@cuba.gov.cu cuba@un.int (c/o Cuban Mission to UN)

Your Excellency,

I, as a member of Writers in Prison Committe of Norwegian PEN am welcoming the release of journalists Alejandro González Raga and José Gabriel Ramón Castillo, and librarian Omar Pernet Hernández. But at the same time I am calling for the government to take steps towards the unconditional release of all other journalists, writers and librarians currently detained in Cuba in violation of their internationally recognised right to freedom of expression.

Confident that You, Your Excellency, will take action accordingly, I remain,

Yours sincerely

Unni Malmø
member of Writers in Prison Committee, Norwegian PEN

Copies to:
Dr. Juan Escalona Reguera
Fiscal General de la República
Fiscalía General de la República
San Rafael 3, La Habana, Cuba
Fax: + 53 7 669 485 / +53 7 333 164

Minister of Foreign Affairs
Sr. Felipe Pérez Roque
Ministro de Relaciones Exteriores
Ministerio de Relaciones Exteriores, Calzada No. 360, Vedado, La Habana, Cuba
Fax: +53 7 8333 085 E-mail: cubaminrex@minrex.gov.cu

Ministry of Norwegian Foreign Affairs, Oslo, Norway

Copy to diplomatic representatives of Cuba in Norway
Embajada de Cuba en Noruega Exra.Sr. Rogerio Santana Rodriguez, Embajador
Sra.CarmenJuliaGuerra, Cónsul
Dirección: Embassy of the Republic of Cuba
Oscars Gate 78B, 0244 Oslo, Norway

Copy to diplomatic representatives of Norway in Cuba
Embajada Real de Noruega en la República de Cuba
Calle 30#315 e/3ra y 5ta Avenida
Miramar, Playa, Ciudad Habana, Cuba