2010: Cuba: Omar Rodríguez Saludes, Normando Hernández González and others

Interior Minister
General Abelardo Coloma Ibarra
Ministro del Interior y Prisiones
Ministerio del Interior, Plaza de la Revolución, La Habana, Cuba

Señor Ministro


Tenth journalist released, exiled to Spain

The Writers in Prison Committee (WiPC) of Norwegian PEN is pleased to note that four more Cuban independent journalists imprisoned since 2003 have been released, making a total of 10 freed since 12 July 2010. Omar Rodríguez Saludes and Normando Hernández González arrived in Madrid on 14 July, Mijail Bárzaga Lugo landed on 15 July and Alfredo Pulido López on 22 July. All travelled to Spain with their families as a part of a deal brokered by the Catholic Church and the Spanish government. The WiPC welcomes these new developments, but remains concerned that the prisoners are apparently obliged to leave Cuba as a precondition of their release. It continues to call for the immediate and unconditional release of the 15 other Cuban writers, journalists and librarians still in prison for their writings.


Yours sincerely

Annaguli Yildam,
Member of Norwegian PEN, WiPC